The Archdiocese of Southwark

The Archdiocese of Southwark is the local Church for the South East corner of England, covering the London boroughs south of the River Thames, the County of Kent, and the Medway Unitary Authority. We fulfil the instruction of Jesus to spread His Gospel, especially by promoting public worship, spiritual renewal, parochial community life, and Catholic Education.

Organised in to 180 parish communities, the Archdiocese of Southwark serves on average over 92,000 parishioners a weekend, and many more who, although attending less frequently, still reach out for support and pastoral care.

Legacies help the Archbishop in his work of pastoral care of people in his diocese through grants to poorer parishes, support to the agencies of the diocese especially for particular projects, the training of future priests, the care of ‘retired’ priests, to name but a few. Southwark diocese covers a diverse geographic area; its work spans inner city areas, the suburbs, poorer housing estates, bustling country towns, rural villages, and all stops in-between! Schools, Colleges, Universities, hospitals, nursing homes, hospices, and prisons: all with people in need of Catholic outreach.

“I thank you for your interest in helping me to help the people in my diocese” Archbishop Peter Smith of Southwark.

Registered Charity Number: 235468
Registered address: 59 Westminster Bridge Road, London, SE1 7JE

« »